College Flying Team on Resume

Subscribe
I have the opportunity to be on my college's flying team and wonder if this is something that would look great, good or indifferent on a resume.
Quote: I have the opportunity to be on my college's flying team and wonder if this is something that would look great, good or indifferent on a resume.
Speaking as a former NIFA team captain....nobody cares.
I suspect it would look good for a major airline. They have so many good candidates that anything to make you more interesting would be a plus.
Quote: I have the opportunity to be on my college's flying team and wonder if this is something that would look great, good or indifferent on a resume.
I have it on my resume as a kind of "hey, by the way" thing under my random "achievements and accomplishments" part but I doubt anyone has actually used that to determine my qualification over another pilot for a job. Along with that, I also have Academic Deans List (because I graduated not too long ago) and a leadership role in a college group as well. Mainly, I just wanted things that filled the space.
I think that it depends on where you are in life.
For instance, I was on the OK State team (Go Flying Aggies! ) back in college but I wouldn't think of taking up space on my resume for that item because after 20+ years I have much more pertinent items that I want highlighted.
Roll the clock back 18 of those years and it is probably at the top of my OTHER/INTERESTS column (if you had one) because with nothing else to highlight it shows teamwork, leadership, social activity, and if you do well - accomplishment.

When the time comes though that you can start adding some 'real world' experience and such to the resume then it would be one of the first cuts too.

USMCFLYR