Question about Headset Etiquette - A320

Subscribe
1  2  3  4  5 
Page 1 of 5
Go to
This may seem silly...

I'm new to the Airbus 319/320 and have only jumpseated thus far, but will be occupying the right seat soon enough.

I love having great conversation in cruise about all manner of things, but I,ve always done it through a boom mike and a high quality ANR headset.

I also admit I like hearing ATC in the same way and responding with a simple push to talk button as opposed to a speaker and hand mike. Seems less stressful and feels like less work.

Is there a solution? Is there any way to maintain a headset preference for myself without damping conversation, or appearing to be rude when the other guy will be going topless at 18000?

Im looking to maintain total unobstructed cohesiveness between non-wearer and wearer, and not throw up a wall when they shed. Is it even possible?

Or... Is the A319/320 more quiet than I think and this is a moot point?
More quiet, you'll want to take the headsets off as soon as your company's rules allow.
Quote: More quiet, you'll want to take the headsets off as soon as your company's rules allow.
Unless you are in Cuban airspace
Fly the jet for 100h then think.
I think that in your initial brief with your captains, you should make sure you mention that you're "looking to maintain total unobstructed cohesiveness" with them.
Quote: This may seem silly...

I'm new to the Airbus 319/320 and have only jumpseated thus far, but will be occupying the right seat soon enough.

I love having great conversation in cruise about all manner of things, but I,ve always done it through a boom mike and a high quality ANR headset.

I also admit I like hearing ATC in the same way and responding with a simple push to talk button as opposed to a speaker and hand mike. Seems less stressful and feels like less work.