Old 02-05-2007, 02:32 PM
duvie
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: May 2006
Position: WB Bunkie

Originally Posted by FliFast View Post
If this thread has room for an opposing view, I'd like to offer it.
First, I believe if you want some percentages of airline pilots who have degrees -undergrad and graduate-I believe Air Inc maintains this statistic. It's been a few years, but I believe approx. 80% of all 121 pilots have an undergrad degree and only 17% have an MBA-most received while in the military prior to 121 employment.

In a former life, I was a pilot supervisor and assigned to marketing as a Flt Ops liason. I feel my graduate degree didn't hurt me while interviewing for these positions. In addition, it's a blessing to have a job as an airline pilot from the standpoint that you can lose you license and or your medical at any time. Having a plan B might come in handy, but this is just my opinion.

If you do have aspirations about going into airline mangement, a graduate degree can't hurt. However, I've had some absolutely fantastic bosses and a grad. degree wasn't part of their resume. BTW, I have done the management thing, and once was certaintly enough for me. Being a line pilot is the best job at an airline.

If you are thinking a graduate degree will give you a leg-up in the hiring process as a line pilot, you're probably mistaken. In my humble opinion, the best assets to have are network connections, PIC time in aircraft similar to the aircraft used by the employer, and a attitude during the interview that you are the type of pilot that will fit in with your fellow crew members, especially during 5 day trips. Of course, a clean background and a minimum of total flight time goes without saying.