View Single Post
Old 04-23-2012, 06:46 AM
Timbo
Runs with scissors

Joined APC: Dec 2009
Position: Going to hell in a bucket, but enjoying the ride .

Originally Posted by vagabond View Post
My dear husband sold my beloved Jeep 3 weeks ago and is now agonizing over which truck to get. We once owned a Ford F-250, but he says he likes the looks of a GMC Sierra more. He is definitely not the same man I married 25 years ago!!

Anybody here own one of these trucks? Any opinions good or bad?

What are you going to use it for? Hauling stuff? What stuff? How heavy? Or is this just for around town use, with some storage space in back?

My kids have 6 horses and they show them, so I have to haul a 3 horse, goose neck type trailer (hitch is in the truck bed, not on the bumper) to their shows. I've been using a Ford F150 for the past 12 years to haul them. The first one I bought was a 2000 model year, 4.6L v8, two wheel drive. It could pull the fully loaded trailer, on the flat land of Florida, but it was pretty slow off a red light and really slow up a hill.

I later gave that one to my kids (when they turned 16) with about 130,000 miles on it, no mechanical issues, and bought a (new) 2007 F150, 4x4, 5.7L V8, Crew Cab, which hauls the horses much easier, but not as well as a F250 Diesel, which I have borrowed from some friends a couple of times, just to see how it is. If you are going to do a lot of hauling, get the diesel!

I was going to buy the Diesel F250 but the price difference was about $10,000 more than the 150, and since my kids were going off to college, I knew I wouldn't be doing as much hauling, so I got the F150, which today has about 75,000 miles on it, no mechanical isssues at all. It gets about 18mpg on the highway, no load, at 70-75mph, or about 10mpg hauling the horses at 65mph.