View Single Post
Old 08-11-2012, 07:40 PM
DirectTo
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: May 2011
Position: 737 CA

Like the others have said: Answers will vary wildly based on the person, what their particular path was, what their desired path was, and what they want out of their career. Your mileage may vary, no warranty expressed or implied.

I was a 135 pilot, then 121 FO, now 91 corporate.

1. I'm already serious about good grades but which subjects should i work extra hard in?
Math and science, but realize that generic flying (i.e. airlines) requires little mental effort in terms of direct math-type stuff. It's a lot more situational awareness, critical thinking, and staying ahead of a multiple-ton, multiple-hundred-mph metal tube.

2. What is the best route to take after getting my high school diploma and what to major in. Aviation science in college? Or major in anything and go to flight school after? Or apply for Air Force and get everything at once?
Do not major in aviation. I did, now I'm about to start my last semester of my second bachelors degree. Realize that if something happens to you during your aviation career that ends up with you losing your job or being stuck outside of aviation - an aviation degree will help you basically nil.

3. What are some of your favorite things of the job?
Cliche - but flying airplanes is a blast. The people for the most part are good (I said most part). My particular job, as a part 91 corporate single pilot, is even more fun to me because I am in charge of everything. I fly the airplane, manage the airplane, take care of everything on the road, and generally make the show happen. I get all the risks and all the rewards.

4. Do you get healthcare benefits and discounts on flying?