View Single Post
Old 09-16-2012, 01:21 PM
Ray Blaszak
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Jan 2008
Position: C172 LEFT

I am a recent graduate of the ATP ACPP program. There are lots of Pro's and Con's to going to ATP and I will list a few as this might help lead you to the right decision.
1.) If you are ok with studying on your own and only getting lessons when you ask your instructor a question ATP is not for you. They do offer digital ground schools now but keep in mind some locations have 2 instructors and 8 students so the instructor isn't always around.
2.) If you are looking to get your rating fast you can do it provided you work hard. I completed the entire program (I didn't get my CFI's because I disagree with how they teach that program) but I finished ME PPL-both commercials in a little over a month. Me and my instructor flew more than any one else but I had all my knowledge test done and I had a few years to study when I was in the military.
3.) The whole we promise you a job deal is gone. In fact, ATP is currently using that scheme to get students to enter their brand new SE ACPP track where they will pay for your ME ratings. OK I don't see them hiring for a while so there's just one of few of ATP's empty promises. All the instructors were hired knowing they were guaranteed a job for six months yet there are instructors who have been there for years.
4.) I wouldn't want to work for that company. I trained at JAX and they treat the instructors like crap. Bottom line you will work like a slave for very little money (which is all part of paying your dues) however, there were several instances where my instructor was reprimanded because the DPE didn't like the way he taught me something. For example, on my IRA check ride I hit one more button to load an approach than needed because I didn't know the short cut and that almost cost him his job believe it or not (no that wasn't made up either).