View Single Post
Old 12-27-2012, 04:21 PM
Cubdriver

Joined APC: May 2006
Position: ATP, CFI etc.

Originally Posted by pimashahs View Post
... Cubdriver, how did you get into the field? I was looking at internships for FTE jobs and I found some but not many. I'm just a little lost on how I can take the next step into this career. I'm only a sophomore in college for my engineering degree and I just want to make sure I do it right this time around.
I got into flight test work through a lateral company transfer while working at a bizjet manufacturer. I had no idea they would offer it to me, but the company I worked for was big on hiring from within. Many companies are.

So... target a company you want to work for, then try and move laterally within after some time showing you are a good person to have around. Good plan, worked for me.