View Single Post
Old 01-01-2013, 06:01 PM
742Dash
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Feb 2008
Position: Retired

Originally Posted by lolwut View Post
.. When asked where you go for the month, do you tell your brother "Anywhere on the 5 continents" and leave it at that? Do you tell your girlfriend "You know when I left and when I got back, why would you want to know anything in the middle"? Do you tell your neighbor "You wouldn't understand, I'm an ACMI pilot"? No.
I don't have a brother and my wife would be ****ed if I had a girlfriend, but yea -- what you describe is pretty much how it goes. My wife no longer makes any effort to keep track of where I am, and some of my neighbors think that therefore I must work for the CIA.

I have an answer if someone asks where I have been, and that is what my non-aviation friends have learned to do. But the future? Where I am going next week? I don't pretend to have a clue and those close to me don't bother to ask. Where I have been, when I go out next and when I am supposed to get home are the only points discussed.

Your comment about seeing ANC is a good example. I have not been there for probably 6 months. On the other hand there have been periods where I felt like it was a second home. In the last few months I have seen a lot of South America for some reason, and yet none of my schedules showed South America at the start of the month and previous to this set of trips I had not been there much at all.

My next trip is for 2 days (this is rare). I packed for 6.

With regard to DH, there have been years when I have had status in all the airline alliances -- yet 2013 will find me with just Gold on American (and that by the skin of my teeth). At one time I had 5 star gold with Hertz rent a car, but I have not been to a Hertz counter in over a year.