View Single Post
Old 05-31-2013, 01:58 PM
stripecheck
Line Holder

Joined APC: May 2012
Position: 757

Ill give you a brief run down as I was in a situation where I was asking this question. I graduated and had my CMEL and like 195 hrs and an interview at ASA at the time. Passed the interview in ATL got the handshake from D.R. down there and then low and behold they furloughed like 150 people and my butt is sitting in a hiring pool. No telling how long it would be. I asked one of the team managers or supervisors or what have you at Riddle for a CFI program and they told me 6 month wait for an instructor plus the program took about a year if I recall. I went across the field in Prescott mind you and inquired about doing my CFI there. It was notably cheaper! I also got my rating in a month or so and started working as a CFI teaching private pilots while I worked on my CFII and MEI and they slowly gave me more students. Once I passed my MEI (all of this took till about 2 1/2 months while working part time at the same place) I had a boat load of students and a steady albeit small paycheck as one can expect from being an instructor.