View Single Post
Old 11-18-2013, 05:34 PM
Timbo
Runs with scissors

Joined APC: Dec 2009
Position: Going to hell in a bucket, but enjoying the ride .

Originally Posted by ghilis101 View Post

I think if people are worried about the "unknown" factor of AA's future, I do think that is a valid concern. But you have to take a look at what makes money: international routes. AA owns South America for now, and they stand to do great with USAir's Europe market, and further expansion into Asia and Africa. Disclaimer: Its been a while since I got my MBA. But I will say AA is positioned well for the future, and the merger isn't just a shell or something to get the investors a quick buck.

But whos likely to be affected the worst in the next downturn? The guys who don't realize the full potential of the intl market. With that being said, I would probably pick a company like Spirit over SWA.
Remember when Pan Am and TWA were the two big 747 driving, International Airlines everyone wanted to fly for? What happened to both of them when international traffic dried up due to the economy and terrorism in the early 90's?

What drove all the Majors into bankruptcy after 9-11? Lack of international traffic, due to fears of terrorism.

When you put all your eggs into the International basket, you'll die when the next terrorist threat shows itself. Ask anyone at UAL, DAL, NWA and AA what caused their bankruptcy. Now, how did SWA do during that same time frame?

Never lost a dime.