View Single Post
Old 10-20-2014, 09:26 PM
JamesNoBrakes
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Nov 2011
Position: Volleyball Player

Originally Posted by duckdude555 View Post
Hello all!

I'm currently a freshman in college and I've been contemplating doing a complete 180 and switching career paths to becoming a professional pilot. Don't worry, I know that these days a B.S. is required in most fields, and I have every intention of getting one. However, I wasn't sure what some of you would recommend I do. Should I start getting all my ratings/flight time now in my spare time at a local airport outside of classes, or should I wait till after I graduate and do one of those "crash-course" ATP flight school and such? What do you think would be cheaper?
Also, does it matter what exactly I get my college degree in? I would have no problem transferring schools into a university that has a professional pilot program, which generally gives an aviation related degree.
All in all, I want to get the best education for my buck!

Thanks for your help!
~Joe