View Single Post
Old 07-08-2015, 10:05 AM
StripAlert
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Apr 2006
Position: Against

Originally Posted by Lurking View Post
I have the redlined TA a friend emailed it to me but it so I have read and even offered to pay a friend who does Management contract negotiations his hourly rate to review it and he said NO.
Strange. I've never met an attorney who would refuse to do anything for their hourly rate.

2. (Another big problem with sick leave in this TA is that even a lawyer can't understand what the rules actually are. It's overly-complex.) - I think there is a lot of context that I am missing as I am new to this game however notwithstanding the foregoing if you must rely on context history and SOP to interpret the TA then you run the risk of having a contract that becomes so vague (especially if SOP is applied differently at different bases) that it is unenforceable against either side and you will be in litigation.
Actually, I think it's the opposite here. There is too much language in the new Section 14, and I don't think ALPA fully understands the ramifications, while I am certain that the company already knows exactly how they are going to get maximum utility out of it.

If we vote this in, we are going to have to expend far more negotiating capital to fix it in the future than we're receiving from these paltry "raises" in this TA.

G. Medical Release Requirement
A 1. The DHS or his designee may request further information from a pilot who is required to verify regarding his sickness or may require a pilot to provide a medical release when: