Thread: First 121 IOE
View Single Post
Old 12-03-2015, 03:49 PM
seminolepilot
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Aug 2013

Originally Posted by CloudShredder View Post
Yeah the other side of it, is that guys put in too much aileron when kicking it straight and the upwind wing starts to head for the pavement, they react too harshly and take out too much aileron and therein lies the problem as well of the downwind wing being scrapped. OR they kick it straight and don't put in enough aileron and the downwind wing strikes as you are saying. You just gotta get a feel for it and fly the plane. It's a lot of fun once you figure out the control pressures and can truly feel the plane.
I'm new to the CRJ specifically the 200, and you've summed up my landings and gave me something to think about. The sim is definitely a bit different from the real airplane and I find myself being scared to put the little bank angle needed right before we touch down just because I don't want to scrape the wing. Today for example, everything looked great, 30ft started rounding out and kicked the left rudder in to straighten it out, but didn't have enough opposite aileron in and she wanted to roll to the left right before we touched down. I'm guessing it's something that comes with time maybe and having a good technique.