View Single Post
Old 12-06-2015, 04:26 PM
MarkVI
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Dec 2015
Default Looking for Perspective

Hello All,

I've been a long time lurker, but this is my first time posting here; In specific, because I'm finally getting to the point of moving forward with training. The question is how. These forums are filled with good advice and multiple perspectives, but I'm hoping to ask the questions in a frame of mind that might provoke new thought. So, to the questions:

I'll start with the realities. I have no money for training. It's a simple reality. I suppose in another life I might have, had the world spun slightly different at one time or another, but I don’t. With my current career and degree, it will take some time for me to earn enough to cover a sizable chunk. I’ve figured it to be 50% at 5-7 years at my current pay rate and averaged rate of increase. Don’t get a degree in liberal arts.

I’m 25 and recently married. My wife and I have held lots of discussion about this recently, and about our future and how this affects it. It’s a drastic change, and we’re prepared for that. In specific, we know the next several years will be uncomfortable, with financial challenges and uncertainties.

The feedback I keep getting is “now is the time,” from family, pilots at the local FBO’s, and friends alike. While I could do good to save for several years, not only do I have an impatient passion for this, but many have pointed out that even the most frugal of spender has to contend with financial uncertainties. Cars and children seem to be very expensive, and even the most cautious of people can face these financial upsets (not that children are an upset). True, a commercial license is just as sensitive – diabetes can shut one down really quick.