View Single Post
Old 12-08-2016, 06:31 PM
JoPilot
Line Holder

Joined APC: Sep 2016
Position: Augusta A119 Koala Captain

Originally Posted by shyflyguy View Post
Hey all, I need some advice on how to handle a hiccup on my PRIA in the interview.

I have been flying for 20 years professionally, averaging about 1000 hours a year. Lots of flight instructing (about 10k hours), little corporate flying (1k hours), a bit of airline 121 flying (about 500 hours PIC, 2.5k SIC) and some 135 flying (about 6k). I have a couple of type ratings and lots of crew experience in both the 121 and 135 arenas.

I am considering going back to the regionals (I feel like the smudge is an immediate disqualifier from the majors, unfortunately), and I need to know how to handle what I know will come up during the interview.

Both issues happened with the same 135 company within the past year. It is a cargo company that runs a pretty tight schedule, has dispatch, and a fantastic maintenance department.

#1. Dispatch had me swap into an aircraft to fly back to maintenance base with a few non-MEL'd issues. I met the departing crew as the aircraft was being loaded and they didn't mention anything about the issues (nosewheel tire out of limits), and the FO had performed a walk-around and didn't say anything.

About a week after the flight, I got a phone call from the CP asking why I flew with an open write-up. It was news to me that the crew I swapped planes with had written it up before departing their outstation, and had also flown with the same open write-up. CP had the crew "correct" the write-up to show that it was done after they landed but before I got the aircraft. It was caught by maintenance and I told him we ought to report it to the FAA and I'd fill out a NASA form ASAP.

Result: Written up by CP and letter of warning from FSDO.