View Single Post
Old 04-12-2017, 10:48 PM
JohnBurke
Disinterested Third Party

Joined APC: Jun 2012

Originally Posted by kevbo View Post
If you really are a working
mechanic, you know that the FAA recently required us to apply for a new plastic certificate for security of our SSN and so they could track who is active.
If? No, I am a long-time working mechanic and pilot.

Recently? No, not recently. The rule came into place in 2008, and mechanics were given until 2013.

A significant drop would be expected if only working mechanics are suddenly being counted.
How would the FAA know if a mechanic were a "working mechanic?" The FAA doesn't track "working mechanics," and has no way to know if a mechanic is working, or if a mechanic certificate holder is utilizing his or her mechanic certificate.

I work frequently with a mechanic who has been a practicing, active working mechanic for many years. He does not presently hold a mechanic certificate. He does excellent work, and excels at sheet metal. He does good engine work, electrical, hydraulic, and is a great troubleshooter. He doesn't require a mechanic certificate presently, and doesn't hold one, though he has in the past and is very active. He won't show up on your statistics.

I've worked with many mechanics in repair stations who did not hold airframe or powerplant ratings, yet were full time, working mechanics. No way for the FAA to count them, either. Non-rated mechanics are not uncommon in repair stations. Or hangars or shops.

You seem to make the assumption that those who obtained a plastic certificate were working as mechanics, which is a ridiculous assumption.

There have always been more pro pilots than mechanics at any airline, even when all MX was performed in house.
Now you're counting only airlines? That's one segment of aviation. Just one.

You've got statistics on pilot and mechanic numbers at any given airline?