Thread: Job Fair in DC
View Single Post
Old 10-03-2007, 05:46 PM
dojetdriver
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Feb 2006
Position: DD->DH->RU/XE soon to be EV

Originally Posted by scrapdog View Post
No worries dojet - I respect your opinion 100%. The beauty is - you get to have an opinion and so do I. My opinion initially was not personally directed at any RJ pilot in the least - it was strictly a viewpoint on the downturn of the airline profession as a whole and it's very direct relationship to the guys willing to accept absolutely garbage payrates at the regional level.

Do I have a lot of 121 experience? Nope. Does it really matter in this regard? Nope. If you polled 100 guys right now, I bet 80% would agree with me with these agregious wages at the regional level and the fact dudes are stepping up to the plate left and right to fly for these janitor type wages. Is it the end all be all to the major's QOL? Of course not - there are plenty of factors...but it certainly is a huge contributor. Again, my opinion only. Now, as I said earlier, I'm in no way defending 1st year pay at any airline, CAL or not. I think they all suck. BUT, they do continue to rise at a decent clip at most majors, and they certainly do not at the regional level. And they could rise quite a bit better if folks didn't accept the haenious regional pay and are lining up to do so. I truley believe you get what you pay for - and that pertains to all things in life, not just flying. As guys continue to accept crappier and crappier wages and airlines continue to lap them up where does the quality of our workforce go? Not up for sure.