View Single Post
Old 10-09-2007, 07:24 PM
MobiusOne
Line Holder

Joined APC: Aug 2007
Default PPL training in a Cirrus.

Anybody have any opinions on this?

I never figured a Cirrus as a trainer, I always thought they were marketed as a upper level private owner aircraft.

I'm interested how some flight schools are going towards the Cirrus as a trainer. I'm interested in getting some people's opinions on how they might or might not handle the abuse that Cessna's are usually subjected to.

Well, I guess Google answered my own question.

http://www.glasscockpitaviation.com/...tpilotsr20.htm

Can you get your private pilot's certificate in an SR20?

Short answer: yes. A Cirrus is a fairly simple aircraft to fly, and the SR20 is the best choice of the Cirrus line. The difference in the aircraft is the automation and technology. It will provide you with an opportunity to get experience in the latest equipment from the start. This will require a certain amount of dedication on the part of the student in learning the equipment, similar to learning a new software package on a computer. In the same way, someone who learns software quickly will probably do quite well with a Cirrus. Some people have a fascination with technology and a hunger to explore its capabilities. If this sounds like you, you will really enjoy and probably do very well learning to fly in a Cirrus. Take a look at this article to get a student's viewpoint.