View Single Post
Old 02-28-2018, 09:46 PM
SaltyDog
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Dec 2005
Position: Leftof longitudinal

Originally Posted by Otters View Post
“””””””””The company does not want to hire an individual, have them go on MLOA for 2 years, and come back with an award to the left seat of one of their airplanes with no system experience.

Had approx 10 of 12 interviewees hired from my previous squadron, all non retirees. Over the past 10 years, only 4 offers, just to interview, from the same 'widget factory' and all 4 were retirees. Not one person who separated was even offered an interview. “””””””””””””

You are spot on. I’m a UAL pilot. Was having this conversation with our system chief pilot several months ago.I’m former military so here’s my small story on this.

System chief pilot tells prospective military people to get through training and consolidate after 100 hours then go ahead and do military work. After saying this the Chief pilot had a pilot come in and after one week of indoc, drop military orders to take a long break. I’m here to tell you, it’s an honor to have each and every member serve our country.

But I’ll call a spade a spade. When you game the system and take several years off then return, I can’t blame any hiring department looking out for their own best interests. The idea of getting an offer means you have availability for employment. That’s not unreasonable to expect. Now does any airline guarantee a long prosperous career? Nope!!!!! One dog one bone. But the company is going to turn around and take that bone and look out for their own interests.

Best of luck
Otter,
Am certain this is an outlier. Did the CP share the details? How long? Occasionally a person gets hired, affiliated with a unit and the occasionally true invol occurs.
Not convenient for anyone, but a necessity of military reality.

We have had a few folks work with over the years where this has happened.