View Single Post
Old 03-12-2018, 01:29 PM
November Seven
Line Holder

Joined APC: Feb 2018

Originally Posted by Pony Express View Post
As a former instructor I figured I'd chime in to hopefully give some perspective as to why you might be frustrated with your difficulty finding a suitable instructor.
I actually have not yet begun the actual process signing up with an Instructor - so I'm not having difficulty finding one just yet. However, I'm nearly 100% positive that it will take me a while. I'm still figuring out how best to go about doing that.

When I read your post, I immediately thought of these two videos I studied recently. Here are two great examples of why I'm going through all this stuff up front.

Integrated Instruction:

Disintegrated Instruction:

In the first video, the Instructor lead, engaged and explained. He strategically connected dots by always showing why and how what was previously explained and experienced by the student was connected to the current topic or sub-topic. This progressively moved the student along and provided continuity of experience along the way. This first Instructor was able to filter out the noise and focus the student's attention on the primary objective of Lesson #1.

The first Instructor was personable and professional, kept things focused in the cockpit and caused the student to feel comfortable through successful accomplishment of assigned tasks.

The First instructor remained connected to what the student was actually accomplishing and tailored his forthcoming instructions based on how well the student did with previous instructions.