View Single Post
Old 03-29-2018, 12:01 PM
TallFlyer
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Feb 2007

Originally Posted by TD40603 View Post
Trying to see where the furthest commutes come from. I'm retiring from active duty on 1 July and will be relocating back to Alaska for the next 20-24 months. I have done research and there are non-stop flights on AA from AK to Seattle, then Non-stop from SEA to CLT (also AA). Long commute I know. Having spent my last 28 months as a geo-bachelor though I am more than willing to do this commute. The plan is to move down back to the lower 48 after my kid graduates. A 2 weeks on/off schedule (or close to it) is way better than what I have going now. A crash-pad would definitely be part of the plan. Thoughts? Anybody else coming from a long distance?
So I've looked at the geographic distribution of our crew members, and as a matter of fact we have at least one who has an Alaskan zip code. I myself spent a number of years there long before I was an airline pilot. There are also a number of west coasters.

But to answer your question, 2 on, 2 off is not really possible. You can get anywhere from 7-12 days off in a row every month utilizing the SAP, but that would also require dropping down to 65 hours a month. Basically, Part 117 (our time and duty regulations) make a 2 on, 2 off schedule difficult for the type of flying that we do.

Some other commuting options you may not know about or have considered:

- Because of the growing amount of cargo (Amazon + DHL) traffic at our CVG base, I believe there there are cargo flights to/from there to ANC. First carrier I would check with is Kalitta, followed by Atlas, and beyond that maybe ATI or ABX? Beyond that, probably not many that do that route. Kalitta's schedule is easily available with a google search, Atlas not so much. Someone else probably has better intel on where / how to find that.