View Single Post
Old 07-01-2018, 07:20 AM
EMAW
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Jul 2013

Originally Posted by Fixnem2Flyinem View Post
I appreciate all of the great info on this page! I have been looking into Wheels up for a while now but haven’t applied yet. I am a current 121 pilot pretty close to upgrade but the medical coverage at my carrier is forcing my wife to continue working so we can use her coverage. The out of pocket costs will eat up a huge part of my paycheck if I put my family on my coverage. We are expecting our first child any day now so I would like to have her not work here in the next few years if possible.

I have a few other questions, forgive me if they have been asked already in this thread or the others.

-Since you’re gone for 8 days at a time, do you find the time to knock out laundry on the road? Roughly how long are the overnights?

-On average, do you fly every day of the 8 days scheduled? Do you ever get airlined to different locations mid trip? Anytime at all to take in some sights here and there?

-How reliable is the King Air mx wise? Do you have a good amount of resources on the road if the plane does break down?

-Is medical really 100 percent covered for the family with no money coming out of your paycheck?

-Do you guys have EFB’s or are you still using paper charts? If you’re using EFB’s, is it a company paid IPAD or similar?

-What cell phone service do you go with as I’m sure you’re making many phone calls during the trip for various reasons? Does the company cover international calls if you don’t have an international plan?

-How is the King Air in icing? I fly a Q400 at the moment and icing is a non issue but I’ve flown a caravan before and icing could be an issue pretty quickly if it was heavy and that wasn’t a good time