Old 04-16-2006, 03:41 PM
ryane946
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Dec 2005
Position: FO, looking left

Originally Posted by AgonzAPC
Are you an Engineer? I am getting a BSME/AE. I will be done by the end of the year. I need some help picking a good flight school that is not going to tear my wallet. I want good trainning and any way to save money...
Alex
Yes, I graduated with my bachelors in Aerospace Engineering. It's good to hear that you have an engineering degree. It obviously teaches you a lot, and it is a great backup to have incase you are furloughed from an airline job.

There are two types of flight schools. There are local FBO's, and then there are flight academies. I highly recommend an FBO over a big flight academy. A local FBO would be any school at your local airport where you can get any licenses and ratings from private to ATP. A flight academy are the huge schools (Flight Safety, Delta Connection, PanAm, ATP, Regional Airline Academy) that COST A LOT, but definately do good training, and train LOTS of pilots.