View Single Post
Old 08-15-2019, 05:08 PM
Douglas89
Line Holder

Joined APC: Jan 2019
Default Private Pilot Training Status

I am currently working on my PPL and am hoping to be completed by the end of September. I wanted to make a post to give some info and timelines to prospective flight students as well as current PPL students.

I started training around mid-May (2019). Generally speaking I have been flying between 3-4 times per week. I fly at a 141 school.

So as of right now I have been training for about 3 months and have about 43 hours of flight time. If I finish by the end of September it will have taken me roughly 4.5 months to get my PPL.

The school I fly at uses king schools for a lot of the ground school. The program is pretty good but there are definitely holes/poor explanation on some topics. I definitely use a lot of YouTube videos from 8MA and some M0A. (YouTube CFI channels). I just finished my progress check today for my solo cross country flight. I signed up for the prog check almost 2 weeks ago. So technically I would of been around 36-37 hours when I signed up for the cross country prog. check.

The things that I have struggled with the most have been landings. For someone of my flight time I am pretty decent at all the other items (based on what I have been told). I could definitely be doing more ground school study at home, but between work, wife and life I have not been studying as much as I should.