View Single Post
Old 12-06-2019, 05:56 AM
APC225
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Feb 2011

Originally Posted by FlyingFort View Post
Let me get this straight. I’m new to United, but have been doing Backdoor Roth IRAs for years, just not 401k’s. I’ve also never had company contributions to a 401k to deal with.

For example: Assume the company puts 16k in my PRAP this year. If I elect to make it “voluntarily post tax”, I can then roll it at the end of the year to my Roth 401k account within the PRAP, without tax implications other than the fact the company has not been withholding for that 16k?

Can I roll previous PRAP contributions that were “traditional” also into the Roth 401k pot? Assuming, I’m willing to pay taxes as regular income on that recharacterization?

Also, some posters said avoid the Schwab Target Date Funds, why?

I know you should never get tax or investing advice from a bunch of pilots on a public forum

Time to call Schwab...

Thanks.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
As to the first question, yes. I do that and it’s a single page authorization form to do it. It’s called an In Plan Roth conversions. As to the second question, I’d say yes as well, but a call to the Schwab rep would be in order. With $10B managed for UAL pilots, they are very responsive. The R&I Booklet is must reading for all this, pages 11-24 in particular.

(800) 724-7526

“Post-Tax