View Single Post
Old 04-18-2021, 09:24 AM
the1dogman
New Hire

Joined APC: Apr 2021
Default FBI Aviation

I was a FBI Agent for 27 years.
I flew for 22 of them.
I started as an observer as I learned to fly.
My instructors were two agents. One was a former Navy instructor the other was a ex USAF KC-135 IP.
He was on furlough from a major carrier. All three of us subsequently retired as full time pilots.
I obtained my Private on my own.
I was eligible for GI Bill Flight straining so I expended all my benefits.
Received my Multi Engine, Instrument, Commercial CFI Multi and Instrument.
I subsequently applied and was transferred to the WDC area. So were my former instructors.
I was able to attend Flight Safety for the Mitsubishi Marquise, Commander Jet Prop, and the Sabreliner series.
Also flew several different piston twins. Plus a Citation V just before I left. Received my SE ATP on my own, ME when typed in the Sabre.
We did FLIR surveillance, expedite transportation, evidence transportation, aerial photography, and executive transportation.
A great job, I flew to all the contiguous 48 states, Central/S. America, Canada, and US Caribbean Islands.
I retired in 2021 making about a 100k+. I made as much in retirement as my take home pay.
My military service counted towards my annuity.
I never went back inside an FBI office for assignment and always had a take home vehicle.
I flew Sabres and the Hawker 800 for 10 years as a corporate pilot.
The last I knew my old unit got rid of all the turbo props except a DHC 8. Jets are GVs and Citation(s).
Field office aircraft were C-210s and C-182RGs and Caravans. The 210s and RGs have been replaced by C-206s.
Helicopters are a different bailiwick.
Jet Rangers, Bell 412s, Aerospatiale, and some Blackhawks.
We had a few NAPs (non agent pilots) but only one lasted to retirement.
An entirely voluntary program agents flow in and out.
Many would prefer to be investigators.