Thread: FlyExclusive
View Single Post
Old 02-29-2024, 09:23 AM
Flightsoffusion
Pathological Flyer

Joined APC: Jul 2007

Originally Posted by B727DRVR View Post
Welcome to APC Forums and congratulations on your first post! Quite a doozy for your first one, I must say..

But I just can't allow this tripe to go unanswered... Your assertions are untrue, ridiculous, and preposterous. First off, and no matter where you fly, everything is the final responsibility of the Captain. In my four years as Captain here, and my time as an First Officer prior, I have NEVER been TOLD to do something illegal or unsafe, NEVER! Has Flight Control ever ASKED me if I can make into Aspen when it is getting close to sunset or when winds are on the edge of our tailwind component....? Sure. Guess what, as a professional, I will endeavor to complete the mission if I was able to legally and safely, in that order... Otherwise, I simply exert my Captain's Authority and simply tell them no (I do try to offer proactive options, though..) As a new Captain, I was asked to go into Aspen, but I respectfully reminded the equally new flight controller that while I was close on PIC time, I was still at High Mins and was unable to go to a Special Airport yet.. Another Captain took the trip. A non-event with zero consequences. Did a Part 121 dispatcher ever ASK me if I could do something that was questionable? Absolutely, but that was why I was paid to be a Captain (and paid to tell them no), with 0 consequences.