View Single Post
Old 05-05-2008, 07:58 PM
DAL4EVER
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Mar 2007
Position: 88B - Loud Pipes Save Lives

Originally Posted by DAWGS View Post
NWA MEC Communications:

A relative seniority list that looks great graphically on the day after the merger begs some questions: are the pilot demographics so perfectly matched that, as future attrition occurs, the list will continue to look great?

Therein lies the reason it seems the list negotiation wasn't successful. As a junior Delta pilot, I would like to see the NW side acknowledge all of the FUTURE Delta pilots retiring in greater numbers just after the NW exodus. If NW wants to receive credit, we should as well. The only way I see around it is some fluid system of awarding seniority credit when NW pilots retire vs DL pilots retiring to their original respective pilots. I think a list with relative seniority and this credit to its pilots would be fair. I think it would have to continue till the last pilot on either list retires that is on the list today. I think that would probably stretch out to almost 40 years. We have some pretty young new hires. I mean if we want to make it completely fair, right?? Having said that I think it would be divisive. You would be forever tied to the pre-merged group. And as the MEC statement above states, "as future attrition occurs, will the list continue to look great? Well it would depend on what side you were on and what year it is. I know DL has many more retiring over my career.