Old 06-04-2008, 10:39 AM
detpilot
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Oct 2005
Position: Trying not to crash

Excellent info, guys! Here are my responses, let me know what you think please. BTW, I'm just a CFI, I have no real experience dealing with these situations.

- Passengers arrive earlier than scheduled without notifying you (before they drive up to the curb). As a result, the pre-ordered catering has not yet arrived and isn't scheduled to show up for another hour. What do you do?
Let the passengers know that the Catering is on the way, and that it is scheduled to arrive based on the arranged meeting time. Don't harp on the fact that they are too early, but mention that things can operate more smoothly if they call ahead to let you (the pilot) know about their new show time. Offer to pick up some local food in the meantime if they want, while they wait.

- Your boss, the aircraft owner needs to get to NYC for a noon meeting with the CEO of a partner firm. Unfortunately the weather at your primary and secondary destionations (TEB and LGA) is low and there are lengthy delays. You don't think that you can get him to either airport in time to make the meeting. What do you do?
Tell him the situation and offer alternate destinations that have better weather. Arrange to have a car pick him up from this destination and get him to the meeting. Possibly depart earlier to allow more time for the longer drive.

- After arriving at back at your home base (after an empty repo flight), you realize that your passengers left a briefcase and laptop in the rear baggage closet. What do you do?
Call the passengers and ask them if they would like you to send the bags. If so, overnight them as soon as possible after landing.