View Single Post
Old 06-23-2008, 07:13 AM
toolman04
On Reserve

Joined APC: Oct 2007
Default Too tough on student?

Got a quick question for other instructors out there (and students if they've had instructors like me). I am a new CFI with about 4 primaries right now. I work full-time as an Air Traffic Controller/Airfield Manager for the Air Force and then head to the airport to instruct after work and on weekends. Therefore, I don't have a bunch of time available. With my first student, I attempted to teach groundschool concurrently with flying. He has progressed very well and is going to be more than prepared for his tests. However, my schedule of work, groundschool, flying, home, sleep, then wake up and do it again was just too taxing for me to continue to teach a full-up groundschool. My other students wanted to do groundschool online, and do their flight portion with me. I thought this was a great idea as it saved me from teaching groundschool full-time. A fellow part-time instructor said he requires all his students to take groundschool, test, and then begin training before he flies with them. I thought, "Great! Just fill in the blanks and tie in their ground training with flying." Nice in theory. What I found with my first "flight-training only" student is that he would complete the lessons (which I know teach the test, for the most part) and show up with little to no knowledge of the material. Understanding of aerodynamics, systems, etc. were all below-average. Now, I usually wouldn't expect a new student to understand all of these areas, but when the student has completed the groundschool portion, I would expect he/she would at least know a little bit about basic aerodynamics and things such as the various types of altitude, airspeed, etc (particularly after I told him the answers the lesson before and assigned him some short studies on certain subject areas). I felt as though I was wasting his time/money by having to teach him about all of these subject ar