View Single Post
Old 07-01-2008, 05:14 AM
Airduds
On Reserve

Joined APC: Jun 2008

Just food for thought.

I unluckily (or luckily depending on your perspective) was unable to follow the type of career I wanted in aviation because I couldn't get a medical.

Long story short I became a Licensed Reactor Operator at a commercial nuclear power plant, a la Homer Simpson.

After doing the shiftwork and all that goes with it for ten years, I gravitated out of the control room and into Project Controls. I've been doing that for about 18 years now.

Truth be told I haven't worked all that hard (shift work can be tough though) and have gotten to the point that I make about $250K per year contracting through my own company to power companies.

For someone in their early 20s to early 40s (there are no age restrictions I just don't think many, although I have known some, would want to start this career path later) going into Operations at a nuke plant might be a good career decision.

Requirements for getting in are not too tough. Namely squeaky clean background for at least five years and the ability to pass initial (and then random) drug screens.

To come directly into the operating department you will have to pass a test that's heavy, but not overly so, in math and display a good mechanical aptitude.