View Single Post
Old 08-16-2008, 02:55 PM
PearlPilot
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Mar 2006
Position: DHC-8 SIC

Thank you all for your responses. I was not happy about the price as well. For the last 4 years (during college), I tried very hard to begin my training. But things didn't work out mainly due to the cost and the job I had and the lack of time etc etc. I had already known about the aforementioned school and its high cost. So last year, I went to this very small FBO, they have a 172 ($112/ hour) and a 150 ($83/ hour) and instructor $29/hour. It's part 61. I think there were only 2 instructors there, and I talked to one person, who seemed very helpful, but he was about to go to another place.
I am a permanent resident of the U.S. and we are required to go through the TSA clearance prior to commencing training. I applied to TSA, and after close to a month, I still didn't hear from the flight school. I had explained the procedure before since they had no clue of it. Still due to the lack of instructors and technology it did not work out.