View Single Post
Old 07-18-2006, 02:00 PM
flynavyj
Gets EVERY weekend off

Joined APC: Jul 2006
Position: SIC

Well, i'm a total newbie to the bunch here, and i read the first 6 pages of this post, was burned out after that, and thought i'd chime in. The post actually has a lot of good information within it, whether this information goes with what the original individual was looking for however, is a different story.

I've heard several times on here that "you didn't get into flying for this did you?" But the real issue here is that we all got into flying for different reasons. Some of course wanted to be military pilots, some fly heavy metal, some corporate, others instructors for life, and the list is nearly endless...Flying is basically what you make it, thinking that because one individual decides he cant make a "comfortable" living off 75-90k a year in comparison to another individual who has hopes of making 190-350k a year basically tries to stereotype all pilots into one mold, which given the various facets of the aviation industry is truthfully insane, as pilots don't always fit one mold.

The normal truth between all professional pilots are certain traits, however, these traits are ocassional hit and miss, and not everyone possesses the same desires. To some, a ferrari is needed, to others, an F-150, to some a piper cub, to more a lear jet (personal transport for both)...

When you notice people getting upset on the forumn, i think this has as much to do as them not "fitting" with the stereotype and being offended by it as much as it does for them being offended by the thought that they're "standard of a nice QOL" is less than someone elses, and is seen by others as insignificant.