View Single Post
Old 10-17-2008, 10:31 PM
LivingInMEM
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Dec 2007

Sputnik - look at those PM's that I sent a while back. They included a case where Army dudes were put in danger becuase of what the crew in the capsule did or did not do and a case where the intel analysis was severly flawed most likely due to inexperienced or first-term intel personnel. I have additional instances if you'd like - they are all of the same type. I also have stories where experienced operators who did what they thought right probably saved the day.

If you look at my posts, I have always emphasized using only experienced pilots, not just fighter pilots. Of course, as a fighter pilot I tend to use that term since I are one.

The first step to a solution is to get past the vision of what most people see as the pilot's role. The pilot is commanding an ISR and CAS platform, and needs to function in that role - we need a single point final decision maker in the capsule. He isn't there to only fly an ILS. To that end, we need competent and experienced operators filling these seats. The wingman that you mentioned or a copilot is not a decision maker to this extent, they are under the control of a flight-lead and have the direct supervision that no UAV operator has. Have you flown with a recent UPT grad? I do on a daily basis, and I can ensure you they will never be mistaken for competent decision-makers. It takes years to develop airmanship, SA, and judgement. With over 4500 military flight hours and 17 years service, I can attest that I probably spend about 2% of the number of brain cells on the specific task of flying the jet than I did when I was a 2LT. I am confident that if we operated any fighters as single-ships in an actual combat environment providing ISR and CAS support to the ground troops, there would be no new UPT grads or wingman going into these positions.