View Single Post
Old 02-23-2009, 02:02 PM
venusinfurs
New Hire

Joined APC: Feb 2009
Default Three Barriers From My Dream Job

Hello, I am a college freshman and like many here, I have aspired to be a pilot for quite some time. (almost ten years) I flew a plane before I ever drove a car and hoped to obtain to my PPL around my 17th birthday. However, before I could get serious about my training (i.e. getting a a 3rd class medical) I quickly found out the FAA has a lot of restrictions on medication. Which consists of two of my three barriers.

-At the young age of ten (the same age I got Flight Simulator 98 and decided I wanted to be an airline pilot) I was diagnosed with ADD. My grades were terrible at that time but after a few years and trying different medication my grades began to improve significantly, and by high school I was improving so much my doctor was hesitant to take me off and as a result I was on medication for years (I just stopped taking them a few months ago)

-A few years after my ADD diagnosis I was diagnosed with depression. Now I will admit I was probably another overdiagnosed kid with ADD. But depression was very real, and obviously was on medication for years. I went to hell and back, and I have been completely mentally healthy for about three years. It really did just dissipate and again, I have fully recovered.

-And last but certainly not least. When I was 17 I got in trouble with my school with marijuana, I did not get in trouble with the law, and never have, not even a parking ticket. But as my private school was quite strict, they ordered me to see a drug counselor for three sessions in order to graduate. I suppose you could consider this a mild outpatient rehab.