Old 05-18-2009, 07:37 PM
boilerpilot
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Aug 2007
Position: Satan's Camaro

Originally Posted by elijahmike1 View Post
I am a 31yr old firefighter for a major dept in metro Atlanta. I have a wife and 2 kids and "survive" on 50,000 a year. I have always wanted to fly. I was close to joining ATP's self paced program (0-hero). Im a vet so after VA would have taken on about 40K grand dept. I began to question my career change and if it was possible. I read an article that said ATP is now only hiring 30% of their grads for CFI positions after completion of training. I called and questioned and was told "your the type of person we are looking for, older, professional, and would not have a problem getting hired as a ATP CFI...for sure" Yah...OK. Then I became concerned w/ the pool of potential pilots growing everyday and nobody hiring. So I questioned...was told "the best time to train is during a downturn and that I would have no problem in 1 1/2 years getting a job that the "regionals will be hiring like crazy". When I asked about the ridiculous pay, that I had no idea was the case BTW, I was told that it's only like that the first year and it's realistic to make 35K-40K in yr 2 and then upgrade to make "good" money. Then I stumble on this forum! Anyone out there who can offer good advice that is not just disgruntled would be appreciated. Be safe!