Gets Weekends Off
detpilot
Gets Weekends Off
close
  • Joined APC
    Oct 2005
  • Position
    Trying not to crash
Well, I graduated from (And instruct at ) a part 141 4 year program. Our particular school (I'm sure you can guess it) is not soley an aviation school, aviation is just one of the the many programs in the University. I'd recommend that over going to a pure aviation college, just for the diversity. I have a lot of friends who've graduated in business, engineering, psychology, and other useful fields. All these friends will come in handy later, I'm sure.

I have had a very varied experience. I completed my private pilot license at a small, mom-and-pop FBO. I graduated from high school, and came to the University. I obtained my instrument, commercial, and multi-Injun ratings here, before going back to another small mom-and-pop school to get my CFI. Then, I got hired back at the university to teach. So I would say I get a good feel for most of the types of training environments, and they all have their benefits and downsides.

I enjoyed the part 141 curriculum because of the intense structure, and especially the college classes that came along with it. A mom-and-pop FBO just won't give you the same knowledge of intimate details that a semester long course in things such as CRM, advanced aircraft systems, and long range navigation. I'm sure if I would've stayed at a small FBO, I would not have had such an intimate knowledge of things such as North Atlantic tracks, APU's, air cycle machines, and especially meteorology. In fact, most of the meteorology classes that we have to take are not specific to aviation, but are in the actual meteorology department.

That's not to say that a small mom-and-pop trained pilot cannot be as good as one trained at a major university, but it would involve quite a bit more self-study and hunting for material (especially for those things that do not directly relate to the aircraft your flying).