View Single Post
Old 10-31-2006, 08:42 PM
Northwind
On Reserve

Joined APC: Oct 2006
Position: none
Default What to do?

I'm finding out I'm like everyone alse. I'm the guy in grade school that could look up and tell you what kind of airplane was flying over head. By the time I was in college I could tell you the operating specs and who designed the plane. I flew model airplanes when I was 15 and flew in small private planes with my Dad and Grandfather up until a few years ago.

When I graduated I didn't know what I wanted to do so I looked into joining the Navy and becoming a pilot. My dream was always to fly. I went through all the exams and physicals for the officer program and just before I was going to sign up I got a job offer from a steel company. I decided that the military life wasn't for me and started working. To make a long story short I was making $60,000 a year when i decided to leave last July. The job wasn't satisfing, and living in Riverside , Ca wasn't my dream location. The real story was that I had been thinking of leaving for about a year when I was promoted and bought a condo. I met a great girl in February. She was transfering to Berkeley in the fall. I thought this would be the perfect oportunity to make a change in my life because I knew I wasn't happy where I was. I don't look back at my decision as a mistake because I left the company right when things started to go down the toilet and I sold my condo right at the height of the real-estate boom. I came away with $40,000 in the bank.