Old 08-07-2010, 09:05 PM
Cubdriver

Joined APC: May 2006
Position: ATP, CFI etc.

I must keep things somewhat confidential about what I do because APC is a public forum and I intend to keep my job. However, I feel your pain in terms of the steep prices these days for new GA piston aircraft from Cessna and other domestic makes. Bruce Landis and the rest of us are not alone in this regard. A new airplane is a daunting purchase for most of the middle class. Even the upper-middle has trouble with it. As a Wichita engineer I am sorry we have to buy a share of a single engine airplane while hoping the other 2 owners takes care of our shared airplane. It is a humble proposition.

What I know about Wichita manufacturing cost and profit on a new piston aircraft is fairly limited, just what I read in the papers. I will venture the guess that profit on a new Skycatcher is fairly low. The volume of sales is low and I have heard the profit on Cessna props like the Caravan, C172SP, C206H, and C182 is perilously small. Cessna is challenged by labor and supply costs on these models. Cessna has laid off some Independence, KS workers and cut production on all its models. Cessna would only do this if they were not selling as many airplanes as before the recession. As a businessman you know that reduced production means higher costs per unit. They can't make money on low volume.