View Single Post
Old 09-22-2010, 04:01 AM
sailingfun
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Feb 2008

Originally Posted by acl65pilot View Post
Great idea and that is what many of those professional associations do. They limit the number of entrants.

The reasons that those two barriers are so hard is not just the test, but the predetermined number of applicants that are allowed to be certified. It is called limiting supply. It is something that we really should look at.

A great idea, except for one small issue called the RLA. I don't believe there is any legal way to try and limit pilot numbers.

On the subject of restoration I am all for it and would love to see it. It would of course mean that pay rates at Delta would have to double from current rates and other expenses soar. A true restoration contract would move total pilot expenses at Delta from about 2.2 billion a year to 4.5 to 5 billion a year. As a senior pilot I would love to see that happen.
If however I was a junior pilot I might have a different perspective on the issue. In the time I have been in this industry airlines that have allowed their costs to get out of line with other airlines have withered on the vine. Those with a advantage have prospered. Two easy examples. AMR had a large cost advantage over other airlines from 85 to the early 90's. They grew at a rate almost never seen at a large airline. When there costs jumped up higher then other airlines that trend reversed itself. The second obvious example is SWA. Low costs gave them sustained growth year after year. Then through a odd set of circumstances they lost their historical employee cost advantage. That also ended the decades long run of consistant growth.