Airline Pilot Central Forums

Airline Pilot Central Forums (https://www.airlinepilotforums.com/)
-   Part 135 (https://www.airlinepilotforums.com/part-135/)
-   -   Freight/cargo question (https://www.airlinepilotforums.com/part-135/54173-freight-cargo-question.html)

PA46 10-18-2010 09:15 PM

Freight/cargo question

Does anyone know of any good cargo companys to fly for around Las Vegas area. Or of any good flying jobs period. I have been teaching in FL for several years and am moving to Vegas. I do not want to teach any more! Any info?

featheredprop 10-19-2010 05:42 AM

dont take this the wrong way ....things are tough all over . I really doubt anyone can point you to any cargo job in vegas or almost anywhere west for that matter . I think you should bite the bullet and continue to instruct .

now is a really bad time to not want to flight instruct .

own nav 10-19-2010 07:35 AM

Originally Posted by PA46 (Post 886871)
Does anyone know of any good cargo companys to fly for around Las Vegas area. Or of any good flying jobs period. I have been teaching in FL for several years and am moving to Vegas. I do not want to teach any more! Any info?

There's a few FedEX caravans out of McCarran.

West Air, Inc. Air Cargo Delivery Provider Since 1988

Doesn't look like they're hiring right now.

Ziggy 10-19-2010 08:46 AM

My advice on this subject is alway the same. When you get to Vegas start knocking on hangars and throwing your resume out everywhere. I wouldn't stop at cargo. There's a lot of GA and 2 satellite airports (that I know of) in the area. This is a constantly changing industry. Someone's loosing an aircraft, someone else is gaining one and may need crews. It may be a short term gig, or could be a career. But you've got to pound the pavement.

flyandive 10-19-2010 10:16 AM

Originally Posted by own nav (Post 886970)
There's a few FedEX caravans out of McCarran.

West Air, Inc. Air Cargo Delivery Provider Since 1988

Doesn't look like they're hiring right now.