Pilots are NOT bus drivers.

Subscribe
I keep hearing this everywhere and anywhere, especially on here. Pilots are often referred to as "glorified bus drivers" and I have even seen comparisons in pay scale on here This comparison has to go, it's absolutely ridiculous.

First off, the amount of technical knowledge and training required to be a pilot should be enough seperation to keep the two from ever being compared. If something goes wrong on a bus they pull over and wait for a tow truck.

Second, guiding an aircraft through the skies is no easy task, I don't care what sort of autopilot you have. Airspace is so dynamic and changes so much that it requires a great amount of expertise to be able to navigate your vessel through it safely and efficiently. You use more judgement in one flight into bad weather than a bus driver will use in their whole career.

Instead of comparing pilots to bus drivers we should be making a comparison with ship captains.
Im a Bus Driver...
I fly a private jet, so that makes me more of a limo driver.
Quote: I keep hearing this everywhere and anywhere, especially on here. Pilots are often referred to as "glorified bus drivers" and I have even seen comparisons in pay scale on here This comparison has to go, it's absolutely ridiculous.

First off, the amount of technical knowledge and training required to be a pilot should be enough seperation to keep the two from ever being compared. If something goes wrong on a bus they pull over and wait for a tow truck.

Second, guiding an aircraft through the skies is no easy task, I don't care what sort of autopilot you have. Airspace is so dynamic and changes so much that it requires a great amount of expertise to be able to navigate your vessel through it safely and efficiently. You use more judgement in one flight into bad weather than a bus driver will use in their whole career.

Instead of comparing pilots to bus drivers we should be making a comparison with ship captains.