Hypertension Question

Subscribe
1  2  3 
Page 1 of 3
Go to
Looking for some guidance. I recently went to my primary care doctor for a routine physical and found out that my blood pressure was very close to hypertension levels. My primary care physician told me that I should start taking blood pressure meds to keep it in check. I told my doc I would hold off until talking to my AME. I am worried that when I go to my next FAA physical I might still have high blood pressure levels and my certificate will be revoked. I am a professional pilot that needs to pays bills, mortgage etc.. Currently I am very stressed of losing my job over this which make the situation worse.

Should I give my AME a call and start taking blood pressure medication or should I wait til my next FAA physical in a couple of months and in the mean time work on alternative ways on reducing my blood pressure.

Any help will be greatly appreciated!
Flanker,

First, the FAA CAMI office is very understanding on hypertension, assuming your physician hasn't found any underlying pathology causing it. Simple HIgh BP is easily treated, at low cost and is not disqualifying.

I came down with it about 10 years ago, felt awful, tired, headaches, no energy. My AF Reserve doc OK'd Lisinopril (20mg/daily) and I got an AF waiver. Shortly afterwards, retired to take a civil job. FAA doc simply asked for a work-up from my doc, including prescription, 3-day course of BP check, blood work and I received my Class 1 immediately without a hiccup. You will have to have an annual letter from your to your FAA AME. Your AME can print out the requirements so your personal physician can prepare a letter to the AME and he will submit it. You will get a letter detailing the requirements from the FAA after the first issuance.

It would be worth discussing with your AME before your first Class 1 renewal.

Don't worry, not a problem.

GF