View Single Post
Old 01-26-2007, 04:21 PM
rickair7777
Prime Minister/Moderator

Joined APC: Jan 2006
Position: Engines Turn Or People Swim

Originally Posted by MikeInTx View Post
I've got other issues with this instructor:

*He has repeatedly bashed another one of his students in front of me, even using the guy's first and last name.

*My instructor just got his multi-engine instructor's permit, and has said that he "now enjoys instructing again."

*He is constantly talking about himself and the "better, faster" planes that he flies in.

*He is always talking about moving on to Regionals - he doesn't seem the least bit interested in seeing me succeed.

*He is overly cocky, arrogant, and full of himself (he's 24, I'm 29).

Should I just dump the guy? I know of another instructor there that I would rather have teach me...I just don't want things to be awkward at the FBO...

Any advice LAFF?
To address the original issue...

When I was an instructor, we charged for ground time (some instructors don't and I do not agree with that...same as airline pilots not getting paid for ground duty time ala mesa).

In the interest of being fair, I was pretty conscientious about what I charged for. I charged for all this stuff:
1) Preflight, ONLY if I participated (student pilot)
2) Briefing, Wx, Flight plans review and filing.
3) Logbooks, endorsements, and 8710's (if you don't want to pay a licensed professional to do your paperwork, just get your mom to do it instead)
4) Time the student spends on his cell-phone.
5) Billing issues (141 school, lots of paperwork)
6) Any legit classroom training. However, if class is in session, and you want to shoot the breeze, you still get charged.

I did not charge for:
1) Preflight done by student.
2) Me getting coffee.
3) Wasted time that was the company's fault (mx, etc)
4) Wasted time due to Wx.
5) Breaks on cross-country flights (the student traditionally buys dinner and beer anyway).