View Single Post
Old 02-26-2007, 04:53 PM
crewdawg
Super Moderator

Joined APC: Jul 2006

Colorad_Kid...I was in your shoes about 6 years ago. I almost joined the Army to become a helicopter pilot right out of high school (after a few credit hours of college), as warrant officer. Now I am no expert on army aviation but from what I had researched the warrant officers do most of the flying in the army. The officers do some flying but hours seem to be limited from what I understand. Someone please correct me if I am wrong!

I instead joined the Air National Guard and served for 5 years as a F-16 Crew chief while going to college. They paid for almost all of my schooling including all my costs to get up to my CFII. On top of that I was able to get hired by my unit and am currently in UPT.

I can't tell you much about the Navy. You don't really want to be on a boat with 5,000 other men do you? J/k BDGERJMN! Actually BDGERJMN maybe you could answer this question for me. What is the service commitment for a pilot in the navy? How many of those years will you spend in the jet? I ask because when I talked to people about joining the navy to fly they commented about how they had to spend a few years out the cockpit during their commitment.