View Single Post
Old 12-17-2014, 03:37 PM
Jetjok
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Sep 2006
Position: Retired

It was in March of 1973, while waiting in the gas line at Williams AFB (because of the oil embargo of that year), that I met another student pilot. We got to talking about cars and insurance, as I was driving my Volvo P1800S. He told me about USAA, which I joined the following week, leaving the Allstate Insurance Company. The following year, after I graduated from UPT, we purchased USAA renter's insurance, again leaving Allstate. As the years went by, we've continued our relationship with USAA, paying little to no attention to other insurance companies. USAA was like the air we'd breathe, it was always there, in the background. We rarely needed their help, but when we did, they always came through to our satisfaction.

It seems that every few years or so, this same conversation comes up here. So, for the past every few years I'd go about the process of checking out other companies, with an eye toward saving money, because frankly, we've always been satisfied with how we were treated at USAA, but hey, a dollar is a dollar.

So I just spent some time on State Farm's site, and then having grown tired of the electronic world, I called GEICO and talked to a really nice agent who made sure she "compared apples to apples" in giving me a quote for our two cars. Following then are the results that I got. Now before I continue, I must confess that we insure both our two cars and the house with USAA, and I assume that I get some sort of multi-insurance discount for doing so, and that the following two quotes (from State Farm and GEICO) do not include such discounts. That said, here's what I got for quotes.

I pay USAA $1826 a year for our two cars.
State Farm quoted me $1784 a year for both cars.
GEICO's quote was for $1440 a year for both cars.