View Single Post
Old 02-21-2006, 03:24 PM
FoxHunter
Gets Weekends Off

Joined APC: Aug 2005
Position: Retired

Originally Posted by cargo hopeful
Hello to all. I have been reading this forum for a while now. I have seen both positive thinking and negative thinking expressed here. While I respect all opinions, I myself have a question. I am a college student with 2 more semesters left at the university of houston. I am in a never ending battle with myself. My problem is this: Is it better to be happy or right?
Happy means selecting to be an airline (cargo) pilot, while being right would be getting a regular nine to five (in my case being a lawyer). I know that there are unhappy people in ALL kinds of jobs in the world, but what the heck is the best decision?? My next question would be is it a better choice to have a full time job and earn my certificates flying part time as much as possible in oder to reduce my debt, or should I just go to one of those expensive flight schools that promises you an "interview" (I know nothing is garuanteed).
And my last question is, I have always wondered, who prepares the meals for cargo pilots in an overseas trip? I don't see the first officer getting up and getting lunch or coffe ready in the middle of the flight, or am I wrong??
I know that this is a lot to process, but if anyone feels that they have an answer to anyone of my questions then please respond.
thanks
I would suggest that you look around and try to find a ANG or USAFR unit that will send you to flight school. You may even consider a USAR or a ARNG but that would be probably be R/W.