Thread: Boutique Air
View Single Post
Old 11-19-2016, 10:45 AM
scorpius
On Reserve

Joined APC: Nov 2016

Hey guys, I'm new to the forum. Nice to be here and to meet all of you!

Just really quick: I've read this thread in its entirety. I've been a United Airlines ramp agent for the last 10 years. Actually, I started with Continental back in '06, was a lead for a few years during the merger and then went back to a regular agent so I could get better schedule flexibility. I got my Private in 2008, Instrument in 2009, Commercial in 2013. I recently went to a CFI crash course and it was crazy because the kid who gave my spin endorsement took his first lesson as a student pilot after I had already got my commercial ticket! It's been a long road and definitely a grind at times, but I've had a lot of fun at CO/UA and seen much of the rest of the world.. at the expense of my knees and lower back!

I have a friend who is a Skywest CA and he had given a BTQ guy a jumpseat (I believe) and he was the one who told me about your company. After reading the thread I can see the Boutique pilot group is pretty tightly knit and there's been a lot of helpful information given out to those who have been interested, even the window shoppers. Of course there will always be people who are negative about everything, but that's just everywhere and especially in the airline industry. It all boils down to upbringing and your life experiences. As someone earlier in the thread mentioned, if you've worked your share of crappy jobs in the past.. you likely learned something from all of them. You can't go to school for that.