View Single Post
Old 07-28-2017, 10:28 PM
Theorganist92
New Hire

Joined APC: Jul 2017
Default Flight training financing, career change

Hey folks.

Humble student here, and a brand new member as well. I was browsing through this forum for a majority of the day today, and figured I might sound my own concerns as a student in aviation to see what the community's thoughts are.

I graduated in 2015 with a B.M. in Sacred Music and organ, and went on for a M.M. in the same subject field at IU. I have one more year of the three year master's degree left to go, and I'm about $20k in debt to my undergrad. Parents have helped with the degree but I'm left to my own devices for flying.

Flying has always been on the back of my stovetop throughout my college ed, until a year ago when a fellow pilot friend of mine told me that I won't have much chance to advance in aviation if I keep it as a "fallback career". Do note, I was 24 at the time. Now I'm 25. It indeed has been a lifelong passion of mine, but during HS, I felt called to music, at least until I hit my MM at one of the most prestigious music schools in the country. I quickly felt my passion for music dying away... that is, I feel like I am putting my all in and feeling like I can't get anything out of it. Plus, the pay is pretty dim... $30k annually as a church musician just doesn't seem to be enough for someone planning to marry and have kids.

Last September, I had fair bit of cash saved up to jump into my private, but nowhere near enough to complete it. I took several lessons my first month, I think about 2/wk, but then had to space it out over 2/mo and as of late, I've been struggling with other expenses and have logged somewhere around two or three hours of dual since may... I understand the memory retention connection to lesson frequency... for some reason it hasn't seemed to really affect me.