View Single Post
Old 08-12-2019, 03:54 PM
curiousfireman2
New Hire

Joined APC: Aug 2019
Default Firefighter considering career change

Long story short, I’m a 26 year old firefighter thinking about a career change to aviation. I’m currently at a “stepping stone department” with mediocre pay/benefits, and I’m at a crossroads as to whether invest my energy in getting onto a better department or a career change. Here’s an outline of what I’m considering and I’m wondering if you guys can either correct my misconceptions or give me some advice.

Lifestyle: lifestyle is by far the most important consideration for me in a career. There are two big factors that I’m worried about: travel and schedule. The schedule is one of the best things about the job in my opinion. I work a 24 hour shift and then have two days off, and often swap shifts with my coworkers, so I have a lot of flexibility before I even begin to dip into my vacation time. If I get on a better department I’ll get a day off every three weeks built into my calendar. I love to travel, and the fire department schedule has allowed me to travel quite a bit. From what I’ve read there seems to be much less flexibility with a pilots schedule. I don’t have a good sense if I would have more off days as a pilot or a firefighter. However, for what it’s worth when I’m on at the firehouse, my fiancé can come up and visit, I can help her with stuff when I have down time, and family can come up and visit when I work holidays. As a pilot, when you’re gone you’re gone. As far as lifestyle, it seems as though firefighting has the advantage. It’s really heavily dependent on the schedule, which I need to learn more about.